If Yan Could Cook. . .

Olive-Basil Sausage & Zucchini Linguine

leave a comment »

As previously mentioned, I bought sausage and linguine to use up some leftovers, and the result was surprisingly delicious. My mouth stings with garlic.

I pureed kalamata olives, basil, onions, garlic, and a splash of balsamic vinegar and canola-olive oil mix (I think this has the lightness and flavour of olive oil, for half the price) in the food processor.

I used this base – tasting somewhere between pesto and tapenade – to cook some sliced spicy Italian sausages and zucchini in half-moons-on-a-bias (pretty, and good size for eatin’). Lastly, I threw in some chopped fresh tomatoes at the very end. Served over linguine with some (again, leftover) gouda grated on top .

The problem I had before, I think, was that since I use a film camera I have to wait until the entire roll is finished before I can post about the meal with the pictures. By then I’d usually forgotten it or lost my enthusiasm for it. The obvious solution is to buy a digital camera; it’s not so much that I don’t have the money as much as it would feel like betraying my SLR that has always been too good for me and never gotten enough use. Sitting around like my hot, sexually unsatisfied housewife.

Anyway, I’m going to post the text right away, while I still have a warm stomach and sense of sedation, and add the photos later on.

And the hot, sexually unsatisfied housewife thing – that was pure projection. God, I cannot eat enough chocolate.

Written by skimfu

August 10, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Posted in Pasta, Pork

Leave a Reply

