If Yan Could Cook. . .

Same Ingredients, September to April: Yakiudon and Fried Wontons

leave a comment »

Classes started today. Yesterday I went grocery shopping and thought, “Time to be practical, time to make fast, time-tested, practical meals that can be easily transported.” That night, I made a stir-fry of chicken, carrots, broccoli, garlic, onions, soy sauce, oyster sauce, and rice. I have undoubtedly eaten about a bathtub worth of this meal since leaving home. I was planning to do what I’ve done since time immemorial: eat it for lunch and dinner for three days, and then make something else easy and familiar – more wonton soup with udon noodles, since I still had wontons and udon noodles.

When I got home, I looked at the cold tupperware full of stir-fry and I just couldn’t stomach it. Why, exactly, is life supposed to be boring from September to April?

Instead, I took out all the wonton soup ingredients and made something I’ve never made before, though often I’ve often been unsatisfied with something similar in mall food courts. Sliced onions, green onions, baby bok choy, bean sprouts, and udon noodles went in the wok, along with soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, red chili flakes, sugar, and ground white pepper. You can be pretty indiscriminate about ordering – obviously the onions and udon noodles take a while to cook, but everything else is food-court-flash-fry-fast. I don’t think the last five ingredients are actually how the Japanese make the sauce typically associated with yakisoba; this was just my unreasearched guess, but it tasted about right to me.

I defrosted the wontons in a bowl of cold water, and then fried them in a separate frying pan in oil, flipping once so they were firm, crispy, and brown on both sides.

Shaved (curled? I used a slingshot vegetable peeler) carrot added some additional crunch. And then I felt much better about the tasty, tasty future.

[As this is a new roll, photos will probably be a while yet.]

Written by skimfu

September 2, 2008 at 7:55 pm

Posted in Asian, Pork

Leave a Reply

