If Yan Could Cook. . .

More Weekday Lunches: Chicken Curry Wrap, Ranch Chicken Salad Wrap

with one comment

Two nights ago I couldn’t sleep, so I didn’t. Some combination of jet lag, school anxiety, and green tea resulted in my joining the crowds of the midnight strange in a 24-hour grocery store, determined not to let this semester – like last – pass in a haze of takeout Chinese and fast-food souvlaki plates.

I suspect I don’t like wraps so much as I like the ease of carrying and eating them, without utensils. The photos were taken around 2:30 in the morning, and somehow I think it shows – the plates and silver mixing bowls look ominous, gleaming preternaturally in the witching hour light. The food looks like it was pulled out of the shadows or dug out of a grave, unwillingly, by the camera flash – zombie food. I’m sure I could fix it in an editor, but I prefer them this way: cooked, as they were, by zombie me.

Originally I was planning to make the salad wrap with Thai sweet chili sauce, not realizing that the bottle in my fridge had gone bad. With that in mind, I cut two chicken breasts into strips, and fried them in a stainless steel pan in a minimal amount of oil and then soy sauce. Other than that, everything is raw. I cut a cucumber into sticks (in half lengthwise, each half into five strips, all strips chopped into pieces about three inches long) and a tomato into cubes, omitting (read: snacking on) the juiciest pieces. I washed a bunch of romaine and chopped up some green onions. Once I smelled the sweet chili sauce (whoa!), the chicken and the cucumber & tomato were tossed separately with store-bought ranch dressing instead, the only other thing that seemed appropriate in my fridge.

chickensaladwrap

The wrap was layered with a large romaine leaf (broken in half and overlapped, if too large for the tortilla) at the bottom to absorb moisture, and then chicken, cucumber, tomatoes, and finally a handful of green onions. This particular one was large enough to be pushing at the edges of structural integrity.

For the chicken curry, I threw into the food processor four cloves of garlic, one large green chili cut into pieces (I removed the seeds from half of it, because I prefer not to burn my face off during lunch), and about a one inch (in both dimensions) hunk of peeled fresh ginger. For a basic curry, this base aromatized the oil with ground cumin, coriander, and tumeric. Another two chicken breasts chopped into strips, a medium yellow onion cut into large cubes (squares? Onion layers are pretty flat), and a few handfuls of cubed carrots completed the curry. I also added one small potato, cut into very fine little pieces that would more or less disintegrate, because I like curry to have an indistinct sense of mushiness. Water and milk in the mixture helped cook the vegetables.

I poured out the curry into a pot of steamed white rice (one cup before cooking) and mixed them together.

chickencurrywrap

I didn’t add anything else to the wraps besides the curry, amazed at how much you could stuff inside because it’s so malleable, with no sharp edges. With a leftover piece of tortilla, though, I did eat a miniature curry wrap with some romaine in it, and it was so much better I regretted not putting romaine in all of them.

twowraps

All in all this made ten large, overstuffed wraps, five of each. Looking at them proudly lined up in the fridge in aluminum, this seemed like a huge amount of food. So far I’ve given away two to someone who is preparing for an unpleasant point in his PhD (may God save those foolish souls who go to graduate school) and eaten two. Last night, eating at Patati Patata with Jacob, I sensed the angry indignation of the zombie wraps back home in my fridge. “We are real!” they cried, “We have substance and nutrients! You don’t even want poutine!”

Written by skimfu

January 7, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Posted in Chicken

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. By the way, Deal news, Late deal on holidays events, Big deal reviews and Deal to vegas tips still available http://deals.goodnano-av.com/

    Layellapymn

    October 14, 2009 at 8:23 am


Leave a Reply

