If Yan Could Cook. . .

Beef Skewers with Spicy Peanut Sauce

leave a comment »

When I had roommates – three apartments ago – one of them came up to me while I was eating some chicken skewers and said, “You made those yourself?!”

“Yes…” I answered, slowly. Something about stringing food on a stick, even the same ingredients of the dullest stir-fry, makes it seem fancy and inaccessible. I’m actually revolving my next party around toothpicks, but that (hopefully) will be a story for another day.

For these skewers, I marinated cubes of steak in soy sauce for half an hour, and then tossed cubed zucchini and red pepper with olive oil and salt.

dscn7479dscn7483

These I fed onto the skewers, alternating meat and vegetables, changing the ratio as I went along to suit the number remaining the bowls. Don’t put the skewer only through the seeded part of the zucchini or they’ll just fall off as the zucchini softens with cooking. In the picture on the right you can see the discoloration on my left palm, a healing scar. On my way to do a paid medical study on pain, I fell on the last slushy ice of this winter and pierced my hand on something. I don’t know what it was except that it left a very neat, very circular gash. I bound it up with some corner store bandages and did the study anyway. While in an MRI machine, a hot thermode was applied to my leg; if you can at all avoid it, never be in a situation where someone is applying shocks of pain to your body and you have to stay perfectly still. Being in an MRI is like being inside a giant dot-matrix printer – they have that same characteristic, crunching squeal. I pretended that I was a perforated piece of paper, except in horrible pain. Still: for the cash, for the anecdotes, for the writing fodder, for the candy bars, and for science!

dscn7492

The skewers go in the oven at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes.

dscn7504

Meanwhile, two jalapeño peppers (one unseeded, one seeded), five gloves of garlic, and one shallot get coarsely chopped and allowed to pick up some color in a hot pan of olive oil. A big hand-sized lump of peanut butter is added and melted in the pan.

dscn7502dscn7503

The melted peanut butter mixture is poured into the blender with about 1/2 as much soy sauce and a smattering (couple teaspoons?) of sugar. Blend until smooth and pour into serving dishes.

dscn75081

The whole shebang is great with rice or raw cucumber and celery. And adorable feet. They’d look better on my black plates, though. I miss my dishes.

Written by skimfu

March 24, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Posted in Beef

Leave a Reply

